Notices

Launching a GS-R correctly.....

Old 03-04-2003, 04:55 AM
eclipse spanker

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Launching a GS-R correctly.....

OK, I've been driving my GS-R for about 2 months now, and I have finally come to realize that the gs-r IS indeed a pretty quick car, though a bit harder to drive than an LS. torque power curves are a bit more linear with the LS, which in turn leads to easier manipulation of the engine. The torque and power curves on the GS-R call for a bit more concentration and awareness, as the switch between going from no torque/power, to aot of torque/power in proportion to revs can be elusive at times . It is even pretty quick low in the rpm range, if you know how to launch it the right way. For this specific reason, I have been practicing my launches, to try and strike a perfect balance between instant acceleration (no lag), but no tire burning.

So far, this is what I have come up with. At a standstill, I rev up to about 2800, and then pop the clutch as quick as possible, but let the accelerator down a bit more smoothly, as not to burn the tires, and give it a nice, healthy take-off. When I reach about 6k, I change into second gear, as I have found that 1rst gear above 6k, results in nothing more but a lot of noise, and occasional tire burning if you are not careful. During the switch, I let the rpms fall to about 3200 ( just above the "no torque" zone. Once in second gear ( this seems to be a nice accelerating gear), I pick the rpms up, allow the vtec to engage, and bring it to 7000. The reason why I bring it to 7000, is to reduce the amount of time it will take me to switch to 3rd, which in my opinion is the GS-R's best gear. I let the rpm, fall to 4500, and than once in third, allow the engine to take full advantage of this gear and stretch it out all the way to the redline. From there, 4rth and 5th pretty much follow the same pattern.