Sponsored by:

05 Accord Coupe 6-sp clutch problems

Old 10-03-2005, 10:17 AM
dimaj
2005 Coupe Ex 6MT

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 05 Accord Coupe 6-sp clutch problems

Hello All!

About 4 months ago, I bought a 2005 Accord Coupe 6-Speed. At 11,000 miles, I was driving home and tried to downshift, but my clutch pedal remained on the floor (it never popped out). So, I towed my car to the dealer and they had to replace master clutch cyllinder and slave cyllinder (whatever those are). After a week of working on my car, they called me and told me that I BURNED my clutch. So, they had to replace my clutch (unfortunately at my expense) and I feel like I was fooled by the dealer.
I've been driving stick shift for about 3 years and I never changed my driving habbit. This is the first time I have a clutch go out on me.
I have couple of questions on this subject...
1) Did something like this happen to anybody?
2) What is the purpose of the Master clutch cyllinder and slave cyllinder?
3) How does Master clutch cyllinder and slave cyllinder relate to the clutch (flywheel and clutch plates)?

Thank you very much for your help.

Regards,

dimaj
Old 10-03-2005, 12:22 PM
Accord2005NJ

Originally Posted by dimaj
Hello All!

About 4 months ago, I bought a 2005 Accord Coupe 6-Speed. At 11,000 miles, I was driving home and tried to downshift, but my clutch pedal remained on the floor (it never popped out). So, I towed my car to the dealer and they had to replace master clutch cyllinder and slave cyllinder (whatever those are). After a week of working on my car, they called me and told me that I BURNED my clutch. So, they had to replace my clutch (unfortunately at my expense) and I feel like I was fooled by the dealer.
I've been driving stick shift for about 3 years and I never changed my driving habbit. This is the first time I have a clutch go out on me.
I have couple of questions on this subject...
1) Did something like this happen to anybody?