Notices
The Basement Non-Honda/Acura discussion. Content should be tasteful and "primetime" safe.

Tips for Fantasy Football

Old 09-06-2011, 02:53 PM
LABARINTH
Better Than Canada!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tips for Fantasy Football

I have never played before and have no idea what I am doing.

Here is my team:

I obviously tried to pick who I thought was best. I also tried to cover every position during bye weeks.

In the picture you can see all sorts of stats. What is important? What should I be looking at? How do I decide who to play each week?

Any other tips? I am a complete noob at this.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg
my team.jpg (191.0 KB, 27 views)
Old 09-06-2011, 03:09 PM
JGordon

Looks like a pretty solid team. How many teams in your league? I find that bigger leagues are a bit more fun, because you run out of stars and have to fill some holes with no name guys or people who can play multiple positions.

With a solid roster like you've got, I'd play matchups most weeks. Try to sit people who are going to go against the monster defenses (Steelers, San Diego, etc.) and start the guys going against the scrubs. A couple of weeks in you'll have a better handle on who is going to be having a great year and who the week defenses are. Due to bye weeks and injuries, you often won't even have to make decisions about who to start because you'll only have 1 guy available.

As far as stats go, just keep an eye on who is getting a lot of points each week and remember that Touchdowns are more important than yards. For example, Vernon Davis doesn't get a ton of yards, but he's a favorite redzone target, so he's good to start. My favorite example of this is BenJarvus GreenEllis (sp?) on the Patriots. They love to use him in the red zone but very rarely otherwise. His stats for the game will often be 28 yds, 2 TDs or something similar.