Notices
Engine Swaps, Tech & Tuning Swaps, N/A Performance, Forced Induction, Engine Management, & Troubleshooting

Swapped 95 Civic

Old 11-26-2005, 06:41 PM
turbohcar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Swapped 95 Civic

Hopefully, you guys can help me here. I've got little to no experience with Hondas and tons of time with DSMs, so bear with me here. I have no idea what technical sites are the best or where I should look so if you've got any reccomendations let me know. I'm currently looking at a 95 Civic at a local dealership here that has a GSR motor in it. One of the guys on the local import board here went to look at it and found several things wrong with it but, it is priced accordingly. Here's his overview of parts needed:

-a new wiring harness on both sides of the firewall
-a new motor mount
-clutch adustment
-trans mount bolt
-cam seal
-engine ground wire and trans ground hooked up
-alt and p/s belts
-radiator hoses
-front brake rotors turned

"It is NOT a 99 GSR engine. It is a JDM B18C (Japanese GSR motor) but it is OBD1. So at BEST it is a 1995 (the oldest it could be is a 1994), not a 1999. You can identify this due to the OBD1 injectors, but without a doubt the location of the crank fluctuation sensor is not on the crank."

He claims that the wiring is hacked on both sides of the firewall, there is a missing motor mount near the A/C bracket, a trans mount bolt is missing and cross threaded, the cam seal is leaking, the engine ground is bad and the trans ground is not hooked up, the alt and p/s belts are in poor shape, the radiator hoses have been rigged to work with the SOHC radiator, and the front brake rotors are warped. To me, it sounds like nothing a couple calls to the junkyard couldn't fix (I happen to work in one) but there's one problem, I don't know how to reference the Japanese motor to anything. What car could I use to reference to when ordering parts for engine related items?