Notices

vaccum problem?

Old 08-07-2003, 06:47 PM
pony2slow

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default vaccum problem?

first let me say im new here... just got my 90crx w/zc
caught the car really cheap cause it had few problems...
anyways one of the most annoying problems i have is that the idle is all freaked up...

i mean when i first start it the idle jumps up to 2k and then settles back to around 1k-1.2k.. but at any given time the motor starts to go crazy.. idle bounces from 500 to 1500... never less than 500rpm and never more than 1500rpm.. but once it starts it doesnt stop until i turn the car off and let it sit for a bit...

the guy that sold it to me said that he thought it might be the fuel pump going bad?.. that sound right?

I personally feel its got a vaccum leak somewhere or i got a bad sensor somewhere....

I have checked the oil and coolent levels and both are fine and neither one is contaminated with each other..

I am new to honda's and have always wanted a crx so i dont really know much about the car. I have the book but what the book doesnt have is the vaccum diagram of the DOHC motor..

I dont know where to start here.. any suggestions...

Thank You.
Old 08-07-2003, 07:16 PM
FourthGenHatch
I'm RICK JAMES, bitch!

Old 08-07-2003, 11:37 PM
Kai
Rotorphile.

The bouncing idle problem was fixed in my car by tightening a screw-in part inside the IACV, but I am not sure if the EACV on the ZC works the same way.
Old 08-08-2003, 05:23 AM
pony2slow

Originally posted by Kai
The bouncing idle problem was fixed in my car by tightening a screw-in part inside the IACV, but I am not sure if the EACV on the ZC works the same way.
I found this on another forum
this will fix your problem!!!! if it's a si..