Notices

dx potential

Old 08-06-2002, 09:58 AM
excitid

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dx potential

Is it possible to make up the lost power between a dx and an si with bolt ons. I'm wondering how much power the basics would add to the dx motor and if it would even be comparable to a bone stock si. I know the si gearbox would be helpful and I know most all the stuff put on the dx motor will work on the si engine but this is a project I'm gonna start with my little brother and I rather not let him spend money on stuff that will make more noise then noticable power. If possible can any dx hatch owners post their stock times and modded times and their experiences with performance parts.
Old 08-06-2002, 09:01 PM
skubb
not that TLC sh!t either

I have to tell you man. I'm new to these crx's but I know my dx 99 hatch is pretty worthless to mod. for these little economic cars your gonna have to atleast have a sohc vtec engine and tranny to have any fun really. even then basic mods will not do very much.

if intake, header, exhaust, and pulleys all together gave you 10hp throughout the rpm band I would be very surprised. and all that could easily have you spending $800 if you find good deals. I can get bolted up 97 vtec full swaps all the time for that much.

I'd suggest ya'll start with suspension, progressive rate springs, front strut bar, rear sway, possibly better shocks, wider tires. then when she can cover the twisties well save up the money for a swap.
Old 08-07-2002, 05:47 PM
excitid

this is my first encounter with a dx hatch for other then around town duties. Its gonna be funded by my lil bro and his part time job. exhaust is cheap, homemade cold air is cheap and the header would be the only expensive piece. Would these basics make any noticeable difference.
Old 08-07-2002, 10:28 PM
jaje
HC Racer H5