Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

Buzzing/Distortion

Old 12-09-2002, 08:43 PM
Deagle
Nüb

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buzzing/Distortion

Hi,

I'm a newbie to all of this and I've got some newbie questions.

Right now I've got a Sony Xplod deck w/ Alpine Type-R componants in the front and coaxials in the back. 6.5" all around running off of deck power.

When playing certain CD's I get a buzzing sound. I assume this is the door panel vibrating when the sound hits a certain low frequency. Will putting in a dynamat speaker kit fix this problem?

My second question has to do with distortion after long periods of play. After about 45 mins of continuous play the sound starts to degrade; the bass starts to fart at lower volumes. My first guess was that the deck was heating up and wasn't able to hold the same output. Will putting in an amp solve this problem by taking the load away from the deck?

Right now I'm thinking of putting in some kind of 5 channel amp with a 10" sub. How does this wire up in connection with the crossovers for the componants in the front? Someone suggested that I instead get a pair of 2 channel amps. Does this mean I'd be running the sub off of deck power?

Thanks in advance
Old 12-09-2002, 09:27 PM
VRGNCD5
cause it's tight!

Default Re: Buzzing/Distortion

Originally posted by Laserguided
1.) When playing certain CD's I get a buzzing sound. I assume this is the door panel vibrating when the sound hits a certain low frequency. Will putting in a dynamat speaker kit fix this problem?

2.) After about 45 mins of continuous play the sound starts to degrade; the bass starts to fart at lower volumes. My first guess was that the deck was heating up and wasn't able to hold the same output. Will putting in an amp solve this problem by taking the load away from the deck?