Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

How to clean up the sound?

Old 10-11-2002, 06:42 PM
BasicJim

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to clean up the sound?

I just got a new install. I have a '99 Civic EX with a factory HU and stock 6 1/2" door speakers. I just put in a pair of MTX 6X9 triaxials in the back deck. I am driving the 6 1/2's and 6X9's with a SoundStream MC120 (Hey! It was free!). I also have a MTX Thunder6152 amp driving a MTX T410X3 10" TriSub box.

It bumps, but it sound like ass above the low volume. I can't turn the bass knob up above centered without over-driving the 6 X 9's and no matter the setting, I lose all clarity on the mid-range above half volume.

There is no gain control, or any control, for that matter, on the MC120.

I want to keep the volume but clean up the sound. I am new at this and would apprecate any ideas for cleaning it up.

Jim
Old 10-11-2002, 07:44 PM
Bl@ck
Sinner

two words... new amp
Old 10-11-2002, 08:53 PM
SiClone
X-Moder8er

Get some better front speakers as well....

Soundstream MC10, you say eh..... Never heard of that model. You sure its not SoundStorm???
Old 10-12-2002, 05:30 AM
BasicJim

It's a MC120 by Soundstream ( http://www.soundstream.com ). Though the MC120 isn't listed as it is about 8 years old.

So, you think the Amp is making the distortion in the MTX 6X9's in the rear deck? Will the amp cause distortion?

The stock front speakers actually sound better than the MTX 6X9's. The aren't distorting near as much. I'm hesitant to get rid of the speakers that ARE sounding good!
Old 10-14-2002, 03:47 AM
OneToughCivic

Originally posted by BasicJim
So, you think the Amp is making the distortion in the MTX 6X9's in the rear deck? Will the amp cause distortion?
probably. replace your fronts with a nice component set, and get a new 4ch amp.
Old 10-17-2002, 03:25 AM
Blckaccord98