Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

What amp specifications for these speakers?

Old 12-07-2005, 08:36 AM
shady visions

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What amp specifications for these speakers?

Direct Link to speakers:
Infinity Speakers

Info:
Peak power handling (watts)
RMS power handling (Watts)
Sensitivity (dB)

Subwoofer size
12"
Dual voice coil
No

I don't understand the whole "peak power handling" being 1000, and the RMS being 300. Does the lowercase w in watts and uppercase W in Watts make a difference? Also, how many Ohms should I look for? Anyways, what wattage amp should I get that would give me the full power-potential out of these speakers? And how should I do it? Bridged or no? Thanks. I'm new to the whole speaker-set up, so I don't know any of the terms or what a lot of it means.
Old 12-07-2005, 09:45 AM
b00gers

Peak numbers mean nothing. Just look at the RMS ratings. That captial W is probably a typo.

As for what OHM you want, that depends on how many speakers you are running and to what amp. As for wattage, a good clean 300 watts would be perfect. As for bridging, it depends on the amp.

Feel free to look at the FAQ up top, there is a lot of information in there.
Old 12-07-2005, 05:56 PM
shady visions

Well, I just picked them up today, and they are Dual 4-OHM voice Coil Over. I will be running 2 speakers, probably off of one two-channel amp. I will try and match up the 300RMS for each speaker, so I guess I will be looking for an amp that can put out 300RMS @ 4OHM x 2channels?
Old 12-07-2005, 06:19 PM
b00gers

Originally Posted by shady visions