Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

Speaker Question

Old 11-12-2005, 02:35 AM
Guri12

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speaker Question

Soon I'm trading from a 87 Crown Victoria LTD into a 4 door 91 Accord DX (stock everything). When I transfer cars I want to take the 4 speakers and head unit system and have them in addition to the existing speaker set in the Accord. I'm going to keep the stock door speakers, put the 2 6"X 9" rear speakers in the trunk. My question is whether the rear doors (both passenger and driver) can be modified to accommodate 6-1/2" speakers or not.

I'm completely new to the Accord and haven't seen the car up close (it's in another state), so I've only seen the rear doors through pictures and wanted to clarify whether or not it was possible.

- James
Old 11-15-2005, 06:17 PM
sina518
2draccord

im sure the 6 1/2 will drop right in the doors if not all u need is plates go to a audio shop and ask for them to build u plates or if they have any pre made ones but im sure it will drop right in. go to crutchfield.com and go to what fits my car and type in the car info and it tells you
Old 11-15-2005, 06:59 PM
b00gers

I do not believe that the rear doors take speakers. I have not personally taken one apart, but I am sure you can customize something in there easily. All you need is something to cut the sheet metal.

Now, as for whether or not you should do it. Why do you want so many speakers. A 4 speaker system can get loud enough for people sitting in the car. And also remember the more speakers you have, the harder it will be to image them correctly. If I were you, I would spend the time, money, and effort into the set of speakers in the front and then the 6x9s that can do in the back.
Old 11-16-2005, 08:47 AM
Ludemandan
Prelude tracktion