Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

Making a sub box...specifications needed!

Old 12-22-2003, 10:52 PM
isyiwang

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Making a sub box...specifications needed!

EYY wsup
I've recently purchased an alpine type r 12" sub and was thinking bout buying a box. I've read articles that mention that you need the right kinda box for the best sound, so I've decided to make a sub box for my Alpine 12" type r sub. The question is...what would the dimensions be for the box? I'm a real beginner to this stuff so bear with me. Although the articles mention you need the right dimensions, they dont tell u wat the dimensions should be...Any help for specifically a box for the alpine type r 12" sub would be greatly appreciated.

Also, I'm thinking about buying a JBL BP300.1 amp to power my sub. Would the amp give enough power for the sub and, if it doesnt, what other amp should i get around the 130 dollars range?

thx in advance
Old 12-22-2003, 11:22 PM
A_D
Reset?

what kind of sound are you looking for first of all
there is ported and sealed (don't **** with making your own bandpass box)

sealed is the easiest. just make a box and throw the sub in (but its more than just that)
for your sub i'd recommend anywhere from 1cuft to 1.75-2 cu ft, taking into consideration that the low end extension will be easier to acheive as the volume of the box gets bigger.