Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

94 Honda Accord Various Questions

Old 05-09-2007, 03:11 AM
WillGatlin18
AccordDisaster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 Honda Accord Various Questions

I am new to Honda and heard great things about how long they last and how easy it is to get parts for them, so hey I bought one. I got a 94 Honda Accord LX 2.2l, but hey all cars come with issues right?

Heres the deal. The owner of the car before me jacked it up badly. He never changed the oil in over 10,000miles, when I got it there was hardly any oil in it. I just replaced the leaking valve cover gaskets today and its not leaking anymore. But heres the thing... After the oil change the car runs better but its ticking... Not badly, just a small irritating ticking noise from the engine.

Not only did the previous owner never change the oil or fluids, but he overheated the car for a while. He knowingly had a bad thermostat and would drive it till it got really hot and then he'd shut it off, let it cool, and go the rest of the way to work till he eventually replaced the thermostat. He only drove it that hot for like a week and replaced the thermostat, no damage to engine due to overheating, which is good.

However after getting the engine that hot and running low on oil the internal parts of the engine are covered in this brown baked on oil mess, sludge if you will. I know there some massive carbon in there because after the oil change and two days later the oil was dark brown again.

I have a ton of questions to ask but dont want to carry on sounding like a jackass.