Notices

Engine stopped running while I was driving the car...Any suggestions to the cause ?

Old 07-20-2008, 01:56 PM
VFR750F

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine stopped running while I was driving the car...Any suggestions to the cause ?

Hey all...

Noob here h: , so please go easy on me

Here are the specs, followed by the gorry details of the mishap:

The car is a bone-stock, 1993 Civic EX Coupe, D16Z6 engine, S20 Manual Tranny with 128k -until now, troublefree - miles on it.
The required regular maintenance has always been performed on it according to the service schedule in the "Owner's Manual", with the exception of the fuel filter, which was never changed (I was just about to tackle it, at the end of July while on vacation).
This morning I was driving it back home, after a 4 mile round-trip to the local SuperTarget, when at about 500 yards away from my house, the engine abruptly shuts off. There was NO sputtering or any gradual loss of power in the engine. It was as if someone had turned the key in the ignition to the OFF position. I was able to coast without engine power for another 2-300 yards until the car came to a complete stop. I cranked it twice for at least 5-8 seconds, but it did not start: the starter had plenty of power though. I let it sit parked on the side of the road for about 4-5 hours to cool down (well, at least as much cooling as a sunny Texas summer day of 99F will allow, and then tried to start again. Unfortunately same results. The starter cranks normally-like it always does-but the engine does not catch on.

Any suggestions as to where I should start the diagnostic process? I am at a total loss here.
I have access to a friends Actron CP9135 and Factory Service Manual.

Many thanks guys.

Last edited by VFR750F; 07-20-2008 at 02:26 PM.
Old 07-20-2008, 04:34 PM
glloyd1