Notices

Autox or track and your aftermarket suspension

Old 11-30-2004, 04:45 PM
chimchim
WRX cuz Honda won't wagon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Autox or track and your aftermarket suspension

Does anybody regularly autox or run the tracks with their car?

Particularly in the stock or touring class, which suspension do you have and if adjustable, what is it adjusted to? What's your experience with how your suspension has improved your times?
Old 11-30-2004, 08:21 PM
CivicSiRacer
Honorary Moderator Alumni

I do about 30-40 autocrosses a year. I did a track day almost 3 years ago at VIR. I've been autocrossing for 8 years competitively for about 4.

Here's my list: http://home.dejazzd.com/mlouie/mikecivicsi.html

The biggest thing is corner weighing and making sure your car is NOT too low. Making sure FL to RR and FR to RL are 50/50 weight distribution. You can have the most expensive suspension in the world, but your car turns better left than right.

Also being too low means you can run into the bump stops upsetting the balance of the car in a corner. You can also have under-dampened shocks.

AND last point and I'll stop cause I can go on and on You can have a too stiff car for different tracks. I've found the front of my car likes to be on the soft side so the tires can bite the pavement better, and the rear of my car likes to be stiff to rotate a car in a corner.

Last edited by CivicSiRacer; 11-30-2004 at 08:24 PM.
Old 11-30-2004, 11:20 PM
chimchim

Originally Posted by CivicSiRacer
AND last point and I'll stop cause I can go on and on....
Please do continue, this is what I was looking for!
Old 12-01-2004, 06:16 AM
CivicSiRacer

Well my 1st question to you would be how long have you been autocrossing and what have you done to the car?