Notices

Universal Back boxes ... Any good? Advice needed.

Old 09-13-2004, 04:51 PM
fragm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Universal Back boxes ... Any good? Advice needed.

Hi,

I'm looking for a fairly quiet stainless steel back box for my Civic Si. Has anyone had any experience fitting one? Any advice you can offer? I'm a complete noob with exhausts.

I'm not looking for something that will *not* boost performance much, if at all, as my insurance policy doesn't allow it ... I just want something that looks good, sounds sporty, not loud & won't rust!!

Any opinions welcome ....

nik
Old 09-13-2004, 04:53 PM
mistacee
Zc powered ED9

WTF is a "back box"? I am guessing a muffler?
What yr Si?
Old 09-13-2004, 06:44 PM
Kai
Rotorphile.

Back box? :wtf:

Universal mufflers need to be welded on by an experienced person. They sound pretty bad without larger piping anyway.
Old 09-13-2004, 10:44 PM
WideBodyEK
Stage 3 Modified

Originally Posted by Kai
Back box? :wtf:

Universal mufflers need to be welded on by an experienced person. They sound pretty bad without larger piping anyway.
and please please please please if you go with new piping to make sure you have a resonator put on also
Old 09-14-2004, 03:15 PM
Kai
Rotorphile.

Originally Posted by WideBodyEK
and please please please please if you go with new piping to make sure you have a resonator put on also
Yeah, that too.
Old 09-15-2004, 07:18 AM
fragm

Hi, Thanks for your advice.

Yes a "Back Box" is what you guys in the US call a "muffler". I'm from the UK so occasionally come up with strange terms like that.

My car is a 1995 Civic Esi 3DR, which is the same as the US "Si" (D16). Except, I'm not sure whether catalytic converters were fitted to Civic Si's as early as 1995 in the US? UK law meant they had to be fitted from 1992 onwards.