Notices
The Basement Non-Honda/Acura discussion. Content should be tasteful and "primetime" safe.

credit card advice/suggestions

Old 08-28-2003, 12:18 AM
clickwir
Floppy Death! noES!!!

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default credit card advice/suggestions

Ok. I can see this being a hot topic... but I'm a credit card virgin. I need some suggestions on a first card to get. I am looking on getting a good credit rating going and plan to make payments quickly, on time, and to pay off as quickly as possible.

I've talked to some friends and looked at some websites... CitiBank seems to have a nice offering... Capital One has a nice one or so... but since I'm new to this... I probably won't be able to get one of the nice cards right? I'm probably going to be forced to get some crappy APR and probably pay a deposit and service charges out the ass... right? Suggestions for a first CC?

h:
Old 08-28-2003, 12:21 AM
randomtask77
Wanderer

Get a card that has no annual fee. That was the main thing that I looked for when I first got a CC.
Old 08-28-2003, 12:23 AM
b00gers

just look at all the big banks....citi, capitalone, chase.....

you shouldnt even have to consider their APR because you should be able to pay it off in the first month. otherwise, save up till you can. I CANT STRESS IT MORE. people told me the same thing when i got my first CC, it went in one ear, out the other. ive been in debt since.

then you can also look at cards that gives you rewards points and cash back on purchases.

my chase card gives me $10 to toys R us for every $1000 i spend :exnbp:
Old 08-28-2003, 12:26 AM
clickwir
Floppy Death! noES!!!

I'm so dumb when it comes to this. So lets say I buy something on the CC for $45. If I pay that $45 off before the next month/billing then that's all I have to pay... no extra %'s?
Old 08-28-2003, 12:27 AM
b00gers

Originally posted by clickwir