Notices

Need help...What workshop manual do you recommend?

Old 02-27-2005, 06:47 PM
MaxOctane

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help...What workshop manual do you recommend?

The timing belt on my 91 integra LS broke and now the valves are all bent up. Anyway, I found a place that would fix it for ~$750, but that's a bit rich for me. I want to try and do it myself, and I wanted to know what you would recommend as a good workshop manual. I've had back luck with Hayne's...what about Chilton? Anything else?

I've never worked on an overhead cam engine before, but I'm not an idiot - I'm pretty sure I can do it. Anyway, below is a list of things I would expect to do during this project. For those of you who are more advanced in engine repair, if you wouldn't mind looking over what I have listed, and if you see any complications, or anything I am missing I would greatly appreciate it if you replied.

1. Remove valve cover and timing belt covers.
2. Remove cam caps and cams
3. Remove head bolts and remove head.
4. Take head to machine shop to have valve work done
5. Replace head using new gasket
6. Install cams and timing belt. Set valve lash.
7. replace timing belt cover and valve cover

I figure special tools I will need that I don't already have are:

1. Feeler gauges
2. valve adjustment tool
3. breakinger bar? (for removing head bolts?)

Do you think I will have any problems getting the head bolts out? Also, will I need to remove the harmonic balancer?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 02-27-2005, 06:54 PM
dubcac
I

Helms is the best. Haynes and Chiltons don't compare.
Old 02-27-2005, 06:59 PM
MaxOctane

Where can I get a Helm's workshop manual?
Old 02-27-2005, 07:00 PM
TheOtherDave™
Apathy Kills

Haynes and Chilton manuals are both poor choices.
IMO, there is no subsitute for the HELMS Factory Shop Manual.
EDIT >> http://www.helminc.com/helm/homepage.asp?r= <<

--