Notices
News & Rumors Archives Useful threads, previous Cars of the Week, and more.

How much longer will we have the factory turbo?

Old 07-29-2002, 02:06 PM
BB6Driver
mini Ferarri

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How much longer will we have the factory turbo?

Hello, I'm new to this fourm. I'm looking forward to some interesting discussions :)

I've got an industry question:

Right now a lot of interesting cars seem to be ready to hit our shores from Japan. The WRX Sti, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution, Mazda's RX8 and Protege turbo, etc.

With emissions laws getting more stringent every couple of years I wonder how much longer manufacturers can keep producing under $30k vehicles with turbos. I think they're pretty cool and I've always wanted to own one.

What I'm asking is, based on what you guys know about the car industry, emissions laws and engines, how much longer do you think they can keep making affordable little hotrods with blowers under the hood?

Have we got ten? Fifteen? Twenty years before they become too expensive to produce?

I'm thinking twelve years from now-- maybe fifteen years tops. I'd also expect the MSRP on these cars to go up a little every new production run.

What do you think?
Old 07-29-2002, 02:20 PM
yianni64

Infilation will see that in due time a Civic's base price is over 30k.
Old 07-29-2002, 04:28 PM
BonzoAPD

Originally posted by yianni64
Infilation will see that in due time a Civic's base price is over 30k.

Yep, and the 3 series will be 75,000. It will be a sad day.
Old 07-29-2002, 04:36 PM
yianni64

Originally posted by BonzoAPD

Yep, and the 3 series will be 75,000. It will be a sad day.
But minimun wage will be $20 an hour. That how inflation works people.
Old 07-29-2002, 04:47 PM
98CoupeV6
lots and lots of fail

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Hey BB6, welcome to the forum. Glad to have you

I'm sure some of our better tech guys like jaje or viggen (or whatever the hell his name is now) can answer better, but here goes...