Notices

90's Honda RS250: Info about this bike?

Old 02-16-2005, 09:03 PM
BB6Driver
mini Ferarri

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 90's Honda RS250: Info about this bike?

Hello,

I am not new to specialty cars but I am new to motorcycles. There is a particular bike I'd like to know more about.

Honda's RS250 from the last decade. Can anyone tell me a little about this motorcycle? I know it has a racing history but nothing else. Is this a bike you could buy on the used market and ride on the street? Also, what class of bike is this? Superbike?

I'd appreciate any information. Thanks!

-Craig
Old 02-17-2005, 11:17 AM
DamnAccord
Closet Gun Nut

Hey dude,

Anyway, I don't think there are enough motorcycle members on the board that know about the history of this particular bike. But from what I know, it has a 2 cylinder, 2 stroke motor. And most of the ones you can find these days are used for the track. I don't know if you can still use these on the streets though. I'm pretty sure you can but don't quote me on that.
Old 02-17-2005, 04:24 PM
BB6Driver
mini Ferarri

Hey thanks!

Yeah, it's not really a motorcycle forum.

So this bike is probably only available in used racing spec. I remember reading something else about the engine... that the cylinders were separate and self-contained in some way.

Anyway, it's a very stylish looking motorcycle, streetable or non. I'll keep looking. Thanks!
Old 03-05-2005, 09:24 PM
Obsidian

Im pretty sure the RS250 was produced for track use in lightweight GP series. Im sure you could put one on the road one way or another, but a high revving 2 stroke race motor like that would have to be either downtuned, or run on high octane and run hard to be reliable enough for street use. I had a friend a couple years ago that put a Yamaha RZ350 track bike on the street, but the bike was built as a track bike. He was constantly having problems running it around town, The engine just wouldnt run hot enough around town to keep itself clean.