Honda-Acura.net

Honda-Acura.net (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/index.php)
-   Integra & 97-01 Integra Type-R (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/integra-and-97-01-integra-type-r-17/)
-   -   How much could I get for... (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/integra-and-97-01-integra-type-r/255027-how-much-could-i-get-for.html)

whiteEJ8 11-16-2006 11:55 AM

How much could I get for...

I friend of mine that owns a mechanic shop picked up a 2001 integra 4 door at an auction that he wants to sell to me for 1250. The car was stolen and has no motor and needs some body/paint work which I do for a living so the repair cost will be minimal. About how much could I get for a rolling chassis once the body and paint work is done? I don't want to put a bunch of work into it if my profit isn't there.

TheOtherDave™ 11-16-2006 01:41 PM

You won't get much, particularly if the car has a salvage title and the wiring harness is hacked to shit.

As a buyer, it would be very hard to convince me to spend more than $2K on a rolling chassis with a salvage title, regardless of condition.

I wouldn't bother.

1turbodc2 11-16-2006 02:36 PM

Originally Posted by TheOtherDave™ (Post 3228270)
You won't get much, particularly if the car has a salvage title and the wiring harness is hacked to shit.

As a buyer, it would be very hard to convince me to spend more than $2K on a rolling chassis with a salvage title, regardless of condition.

I wouldn't bother.

I would have to agree... with that 100 percent

whiteEJ8 11-16-2006 03:36 PM

I figured since a lot of people do swaps anyway I might get more than that. Thanks for the help, I'll pass on this one.

tommyhcky13 11-17-2006 02:51 PM

you dont cut the wiring harness to start a car.the new ignition is $25. you might be able to part it out

TheOtherDave™ 11-17-2006 03:00 PM

Originally Posted by tommyhcky13 (Post 3230343)
you dont cut the wiring harness to start a car. the new ignition is $25....

Well yeah, that's obvious.