Notices

couple of questions on ls/vtec

Old 08-26-2006, 04:11 PM
vinhdizzo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default couple of questions on ls/vtec

first lemme say that im really new to this and i know ls/vtec has been done numerous times. i have a 1990 acura integra ls. the engine code says B18A. newbie question but is this the stock engine? also it burns and leaks oil. is it worth doing an ls/vtec on this trans or should i get another one? it's going to be my daily driver but i wanted to throw aftermarket camshafts on it. how much will this effect due to daily driving? i wanted to keep it oem for daily driving but when i heard i can get 20 hp w/ camshafts, i want to add them also. last but not least stage 1 stage 2 and 3 camshafts. which is best for me in your honest opinion?i want to add nice hp but the car is going to be stock except for air intake, headers and catback. i want good performance cams but don't want to stress gsr head too much w/ cams that are built for fully built/tuned cars. any and all feedback is appreciated.

David
Old 08-26-2006, 04:28 PM
sherwood
I missed Sean

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

if you have an oil leak you best first find out where it is coming from.

in my opinion i don't believe you would have the know-how to build any major engine right now. camshafts alone will not magically yeild 20hp, it takes tuning and other headwork as well as other modifications.

if the oil leaks are serious i'd suggest just ditching the engine for a new one. with the price of a vtec head and all the goodies, plus labor being up in the 2k range i'd look at just buying a different engine, possibly one equipped with vtec from the start.

the reason i am suggesting this is engine swaps are pretty stright forward, it will get rid of the oil problem you have and give you vtec without any of those unwanted headaches.

downtime for a swap is also much less than trying to build a motor, especially when it's 15+ years old.

:edit:
where in CT are you from?
:edit2: