Notices

:Your Two Cent Please:

Old 08-18-2004, 09:14 PM
CiViC2nR86
JDM Padawin

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default :Your Two Cent Please:

My car is coming along pretty nicely, and I have finally reached the point where I want more power for my Integra. BTW I drive a 2000 LS with about 55,000 miles on it so far, the motor is pretty healthy considering I've beaten an eg6 with the same motor. Since the b18b1 has pretty nice Displacement and the stroke and gearing is perfect for forced induction, it might be cheaper to go that way. I am a full time student and use this car as a daily driver so reliability is definately a big consideration. I know Mr.FatBooty will ask this so I might as well answer it now, I am looking to spend under $2000 and looking for about 200 horses or so to the wheels from my measely 129hp.

The draw back on the turbo is the labor work on it, because I dont have a garage of my own and do not know too much about Turbos to be puttin one in reliably. First off, there are more parts, like the turbo, intercooler, blow-off valve, FMU, injectors, exhaust manifold, gauges, downpipe, boost controller ..etc. Then i would have to tap an oil line and worry about maintaining it all the time. For a turbo kit in my price range with all those parts would probably be either used or shitty.

The supercharger (JRSC) is about $2,500 brand new, although i can get it used in pretty good condition for about $1,500 with a 8 psi pulley. It is easier to maintain and probably pretty reliable, but with it boosting all the time, it probably wouldn't good for a daily driver? And the price, about $1,500-$2,500 for only about 160hp to the wheels is probably very costly i think.