Notices

Weird Clicking Sound in Steering

Old 09-11-2006, 10:02 AM
tjh2a

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Weird Clicking Sound in Steering

I am new to theis forum and I am asking for someone to help diagnosing a problem that I am having with my steering. It is happening in my 1991 Civic LX 4-door, automatic transmission, 161K. Basically I am hearing a clicking sound when I turn a corner and I can also feel it in the steering wheel. It seems as if the only time I can feel or hear it is when I am accelerating and turning a corner. It doesn't seem to do it on wide turns and/or when I am not giving it any gas. It also occures when I am turning either left or right.

Could this be a problem related to the ball-joints or transmission? I grow up around working on domestic vehicles and I have just recently got into imports so I am trying to learn more about Hondas.
Old 09-11-2006, 10:11 AM
RedlineBoyzCRX
EG6

Originally Posted by tjh2a
I am new to theis forum and I am asking for someone to help diagnosing a problem that I am having with my steering. It is happening in my 1991 Civic LX 4-door, automatic transmission, 161K. Basically I am hearing a clicking sound when I turn a corner and I can also feel it in the steering wheel. It seems as if the only time I can feel or hear it is when I am accelerating and turning a corner. It doesn't seem to do it on wide turns and/or when I am not giving it any gas. It also occures when I am turning either left or right.

Could this be a problem related to the ball-joints or transmission? I grow up around working on domestic vehicles and I have just recently got into imports so I am trying to learn more about Hondas.