Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

JL Subwoofers

Old 11-28-2002, 12:48 PM
BUMPIN' 4 U
Certified JACKASS

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default JL Subwoofers

I own a pair of JL 10W3 that I got from my friend last summer. I'm saving money right now for a custom box that will go on my 01 Accord 4dr spare tire well. A guy from Ebay offered me his 3 10" JLW6's in sealed box for $350. Which of the woofers will hit harder and sound better ? I do have a Phoenix Gold amp ZX600ti to power the subs.
Old 11-28-2002, 02:45 PM
94cc0rd

if both the 2 10w3 and 3 10w6s are in good condition, the 3 10w6 would obviously hit harder... but the bad thing about the w6 are, the ohm impedence is hard to match, its a SVC 6 ohm. so you would have to get an amp that is stable at 1.5 ohms or 3 or whatever... but im not an expert... i have a friend that has 2 12w6 with a Kicker 800.2 amp in his Celica. it sounds great and gets hella loud.
Old 11-28-2002, 09:46 PM
b00gers

all JL subs are DVC. W6 have that weird impedance.

the w3 and w6 are very similar, the w6 can handle more power. depending on how much power you have...you can be very happy with the w3s.
Old 11-28-2002, 11:57 PM
McIntosh'd UA5
got VIP?

the newer w3 (but not the current v2 models) actually has a bigger excursion than the older w6s, and i recall both pretty much have the same power rating too. if you disregard the impedance levels and simply did the math, the max amp power is 600w...3 subs will get 200 each, while 2 subs get 300w each so the w3s should hit harder. if you factor in cone area, 3 subs will obviously move more air. three w6s will wire down to 4 ohms so the previous math statement works, but we don't know what model w3 subs you have...are they the d2s or d4s (i think they came d3s too, or was it d6)?
Old 11-29-2002, 02:52 AM
BUMPIN' 4 U
Certified JACKASS

My W3's are D4's