Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

subwoofer question

Old 08-17-2006, 05:50 PM
autofreak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default subwoofer question

I'm new to all this car audio stuff (i'm a noobie) and i wanted to install a subwoofer into my car. My question is do I also need an amplifier to go along with the subwoofer? And another question is would i be able to mount the subwoofer on to the rear deck of my sedan without a box and all that stuff?

Thank 4 your time,
Alex
Old 08-17-2006, 06:12 PM
b00gers

All speakers need some sort of power source. You will need an amp for the subwoofer.

There are different types of subwoofers. You have subs that requires sealed enclosures, some that require an infinite baffle, and other that will require some sort of free air environment.

You can mount the a sub on the rear deck just fine. You just have to make sure that the air space in front of the woofer is completely isolated from the air space behind the subwoofer. THen you will have yourself an infinite baffle environment for the sub. Some things you might run into...make sure you have enough space behind the sub and be aware that your rear deck will flex and make noise.
Old 08-17-2006, 06:16 PM
autofreak

Thx for your help but this poses another question, in order to achieve the air space stuff what do i need to do?
Old 08-17-2006, 06:30 PM
b00gers

http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/boxes1.asp

Check out that link.

You have to separate the air space that is in front of the woofer from the air space that is behind the woofer. That means that the rear deck must be sealed off. Many time there are small holes or things like that. They will allow for the air to come over to the other space and cause cancellation.