Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

Do I need pro installation

Old 03-05-2006, 06:14 AM
stephbern

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I need pro installation

I need to replace my radio/tape deck in my Accord. I'm not going to replace it with anything fancy. Of course all the items on best buy's website say pro installation is highly reccomended. I know this is prolly all a scam but i've never done this before so I don't really know. From what I can tell it's probably just a matter of taking the old one out and connecting a few cords in the back right?
Old 03-05-2006, 07:01 AM
stephbern

BTW- this is what i want to get

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-3PCk3n6...=300&I=023INDY
Old 03-05-2006, 08:25 AM
SumAccordGuy94
Older Honda Fanatic

crutchfield is the best place for a beginner to buy from. They give you very specific instalation instructions for your vehicle, if you buy a slightly higher priced unit you'll get a free dash kit and wiring harness to put everything in properly. To me it would be worth stepping up to a higher priced unit as a dash kit and harness can cost at least $30. Only other things you'll really need are some crimp connectors to put the deck and car harness together, a crimping tool and any other hand tools to get the car apart.

What car is this going into?
Ever think of going with another OEM unit?
Old 03-05-2006, 10:40 AM
b00gers

The hardest part is removing the stock one. If you arent familiar with taking your dash apart, you might want to do some research on it before you attempt it. Taking out the stereo is usually a few screws.

If you arent familiar with splicing wires, adding the new harness might be time consuming also. But it is not difficult to do at all. Research, research, research. Then patience. h:
Old 03-05-2006, 11:07 AM
stephbern