Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

?'s about Alpine Tech Tip... wiring a diode and relay to the remote turn-on lead.

Old 08-15-2005, 08:07 AM
99IntegraGS

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ?'s about Alpine Tech Tip... wiring a diode and relay to the remote turn-on lead.

I have a question about something found in this Tech Tip from Alpine. This may sound stupid, but I've never done this before.

http://www.alpine-usa.com/images/sup...tip_091802.pdf

In the PDF linked above, they suggest running the remote turn-on wire through a relay and a 2A diode. In the diagram it shows the 2A diode across terminals 86 and 85 of the relay.

I'm not real sure about how to do this... the relay they suggest is designed for automotive use, so the circuitry is sealed... like so...

I found that relay on the partsexpress.com website and also found this...

The name of the above part is... 12VDC 5-PIN RELAY SOCKET w/DIODE. My question is this... with diode, where? Do they mean that looped wire can be used for attaching a diode across terminals 86 and 85? The part description reads as follows:

Pre-wired relay socket with diode across the coil. Designed for use with starter kill circuits. Three 12" leads. For use with 5-pin Bosch type relay.

Can anyone help? Is this how you attach a diode in the manner described in the Alpine Tech Tip or do you need to crack open the sealed relay and solder the diode inside?

Thanks in advance...

JD
Old 08-15-2005, 09:02 AM
b00gers

I am not too familiar with relays, but how many units are you turning on with that remote turn on wire?
Old 08-15-2005, 09:17 AM
99IntegraGS