Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

Component speakers or 3-ways?? HELP PLEASE

Old 03-12-2005, 06:58 PM
WalknIsStilHnst

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Component speakers or 3-ways?? HELP PLEASE

What is exactly entailed in a component speaker system versus just 2,3, or 4 way speakers in the front and rear? All i know really is that component systems are supposed to be better. What is the big difference between the two sound-wise and do I need to buy a bass if i go with the components or what.

If i do decide to go with the component system, which ones are good? I know the Infinity Kappas are quite popular but who else out there are running affordable systems? I really need some help cuz i cant stand a stock setup and I love my music (as im a musician) but this is the first time ive had enough cash to look into component systems.
Old 03-12-2005, 07:03 PM
b00gers

2-way or 3-way setups are made so that the tweeter(s) is mounted right on top of the woofer. The crossovers are smaller and mounted somewhere on the speaker. In a compenent system, the speakers and crossover are separated. The crossover is generally better also. Component setups also like a bit more power to them also.

IIRC.

In my experience, the stock setup in Hondas are a little weak. Upgrading to a component setup with an external amp makes a world of a difference.
Old 03-13-2005, 11:04 AM
WalknIsStilHnst

Ok thanks, I think I'm gonna go w/ the component system, just have no idea which one. Another big question is whether to get two component systems (one for front, one for rear) or get a 3-way or something for the rear or even nothing at all (i dont like the idea of nothing). Whatre some good amps, i plan on going with a 4 channel and i know it depends on the speaker type but whatre some of the leading names?
Old 03-13-2005, 11:12 AM
yeedatoy
Banned