Accord
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1997 Accord, Transmission problem? ~..newbie

Old 06-03-2007, 12:46 PM
scansbar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 Accord, Transmission problem? ~..newbie

Hello everyone, I'm new at this post so bare with me as I'll try my best to explain a problem which I believe may be transmission related.

I have an 1997 4 door sedan Honda Accord. I bought it off my uncle and since I had it I noticed that there was something wrong with the way the car accelerates. I seems as though when I slow down to make a stop it down shifts with no problem but if I don't make a complete stop (lets say I slow down to 10-15) and give it gas it will down shift again to get going and Rev about 3000-4000 before it catches gear.

I do not know much about cars and planning on taking it in to Honda but before I hear the words "you need to replace your transmission" I figured I post it on this chat to see if this is a common problem.

I appreciate any help that anyone can provide as $$ is not something I have much of.

Thank you for your time,
Regards
Mark

Last edited by scansbar; 06-03-2007 at 12:48 PM.
Old 06-03-2007, 02:29 PM
Fuse

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Check your fluid level. Is your D light flashing? Is you cel on?How many miles on the car? Your last fluid change?

Do some research on stall testing trans.,shift solenoids,clutch pressure control solenoids and psi switches here and the web.

This will give you a good Idea whats wrong and how a/t work.

It could be a clutch pack going bad, shift solenoid or clutch pressure control solenoid going bad. The stall test will tell you more.
Old 06-03-2007, 02:34 PM
scansbar

My fluid level is good. I'm not sure what D light flashing means. My check engine light is not on and I never had my transmission fluid changed, even when it was bought at the dealer. I have 85 000 Miles on the car and the car is automatic.

Thank you for your reply, appreciate it.
Old 06-03-2007, 02:38 PM
Fuse