Notices

Lowering my Civic (Need Some Advice)

Old 06-10-2003, 11:34 PM
Medboy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Lowering my Civic (Need Some Advice)

I am planning to lower my honda civic this summer (I have a black 92 LX sedan) and have already purchased my adjustable coil kit. This is my first time doing this, so I am not familar if I have gotten all the necessary stuff before I get my car lowered. My biggest dillemma that I face is that if I should have my shocks replaced as well. I've been hearing different stories about this and I want to make sure I do the right thing before I lower my car. Intially, I was told that you don't have to change your shocks if your lowering your car (ie, if you are just cutting the springs.) I also read that you really only have to change your shocks depending on how low you are lowering your car. Apparently anything up to 3 inches does not require your shocks to be replaced, but anywhere over that requires your shocks to be changed. Is this true?

On the other hand, a friend of mine told me you have to change your shocks if you are going to lower your car as they could "buck out" and snap which would end up you spending more money to get them replaced. I was also told that because shocks aren't that adjustable, if you lower you car greater than what the shock absorbers can hold, it would snap. Also, if you don't change your shocks when you lower your car, you will not have smooth ride and you will feel every little bump on the road while driving.

I am so confused!!! I am thinking that the best thing is to get new shocks but at the same time I don't plan on lowering my car to the point where the distance between my front spoiler and the ground is that of the diameter of a head of a thread needle.

What do you guys ( and gals) think? Remember this is my first time doing this so if my questions sound stupid to you , sorry...

Help a fellow civic brother......
Old 06-10-2003, 11:45 PM
randomtask77
Wanderer