Notices

03 Civic SI vs. 03 Sentra SE-R Spec-V

Old 04-25-2003, 07:00 AM
flpngino

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 03 Civic SI vs. 03 Sentra SE-R Spec-V

Yes, I'm a noob. Just wanted to get that out of the way.

So, I'm looking at purchasing a car within the next couple of months and have pretty much narrowed it down to these top two choices. There's a vivid blue 03 civic si sitting at the local dealership and since I used to work there, i can get the car $100 over invoice. I know a lot of people don't like the body style, but I do. However, there's a white 03 Sentra SE-R Spec-V sitting at the local Nissan dealership that is the last 03 they are getting before the, IMO, uglier 04's come out. I wanted to get some opinions on which I should go for. I think the Sentra has a nicer interior and stereo, but I was put off by the SCC article about the claimed 175 hp engine only putting out 141 on the dyno. Also, my gf keeps yelling about how ugly the rear looks. I like the 17's, but I have an old pair of 17's anyway, so it's not a big deal. I like the smooth ride of the Si and I think it looks more unique. More cargo room and I've been a Honda guy for a while now anyway. Your thoughts? (Oh, can we please limit it to these two cars. I'm not looking for a FI car right now and want to keep it to $16-20k)

Of course, there are other options, like a used car, or waiting to see if Honda really does bring the CTR out in the fall. Which, I'll probably decide on one of these two cars and then decide whether to buy now or wait until the fall to see if the CTR comes out.

Also, what kinda mods am I looking at to get the Si K20 up to its big brother's performance level? I realize there aren't very many engine mods out right now for the 02-03 si, but I figure I'm gonna wait to gut it out anyway.
Old 04-25-2003, 07:07 AM
Paulll
Hail Bent

great, you post this on a civic forum, and ask us what would we get...
Old 04-25-2003, 07:10 AM
flpngino