Notices

Need a little help with my 97DX coupe...

Old 01-28-2003, 03:19 PM
TwilightX

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need a little help with my 97DX coupe...

Aight, you guys have always been a big help and I wanted to get a straight answer on a couple things (Engine Tech is a bit slow so I figured this would be a better place). Here goes, sorry if it's a tall order, but it might be a good thread for a future DIY for all these questions in the same place:

Timing belt
1. What full list of parts do I need to do this (aside from belt and water pump)?

2. Does anyone have a link to a DIY on replacing a timing belt/water pump or can explain this out (pics are welcome)

3. How much does it cost vs. how much will the dealership ream me for?

I'm gearing up to do this for my car since I'm up to 80K and might have a buddy of mine do it, but if I can do it I'd like to. I'm not very experienced, but from the looks of it, it's a 3 hour job from the search I ran on timing belts...

Thanks for any help - and if anyone's in the Boston area that has done this before and can show me the ropes, that would be even better.

T-X
Old 01-28-2003, 03:47 PM
westcoaststyle
Still here... sorta...

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: Need a little help with my 97DX coupe...

Originally posted by TwilightX
[B]Aight, you guys have always been a big help and I wanted to get a straight answer on a couple things (Engine Tech is a bit slow so I figured this would be a better place). Here goes, sorry if it's a tall order, but it might be a good thread for a future DIY for all these questions in the same place:

Timing belt
1. What full list of parts do I need to do this (aside from belt and water pump)?
Exhaust manifold gasket
Intake manifold gasket
Head gasket
Valve Cover seal
Spark Plug seals (4)

2. Does anyone have a link to a DIY on replacing a timing belt/water pump or can explain this out (pics are welcome)
I JUST did this.. I should have done a DIY