Notices

Noxious fuel smell in cabin

Old 05-26-2009, 09:40 PM
Maxire

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noxious fuel smell in cabin

'Sup everyone. Been a while since I've visited.

I'm not really sure if I'm in the right forum since I have a 2000 Civic SI, but the other forum was '02+, so forgive me if this is misplaced. >.<

First of all, I'm a newb when it comes to tuning, so bear with my ignorance...I'm in a heavy learning process (especially about the car I have; details may not be known :P).

Anyways, on with the dilemna...

The car:
2000 Civic SI
1.8L DOHC B16 w/ GSR top block as well as many other parts GSR (I believe)
Naturally aspirated w/ ~10.5:1 compression
K&N intake; DC exhaust manifold; 2.5"-3" catback exhaust
Hondata modified ECU

The problem:
Today driving to work (I commute around 30 miles to/from) my cabin was filled with a heavy fuel/oil aroma, and even with the windows down half way (it was raining, unfortunately) I could still smell it. With the windows up, I was getting light-headed to the point of nausea.

Slight history:
The engine burns a little oil - about 1.5 quarts every oil change (3k miles), and with a recent tune-up at the shop in ATL I found out that I probably need to replace some piston rings or do some internal work.

The oil was changed ~500 miles ago and has already burned through a lot of oil since the Hondata tuning, so I've been keeping a close watch on it and decided to give it about 1.5 quarts (was at the minimum level). Unfortunately I did this on my way to work without giving it time to settle and check it again, and when I got to work and let the engine cool, the oil level is about 2-3 mm above full.

Could the overfill of oil be the problem or do I have other things to worry about now (gaskets and seals being ruptured from overfilling, etc...)?