Notices

question

Old 02-18-2005, 10:51 PM
Civic Guy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default question

Sup man im a new member well i have a question...well i dont know if this is true but if you take off your power steering do you get more horse power or something like that????????? or does it help your car in some kin of way
Old 02-18-2005, 11:18 PM
Outxider
X-Motoring

u free up some power but not much. 2-3hp at max. i would rather keep mines, as i daily drive my hatch. and welcome to han and hope enjoy ur stay here. :wavey:
Old 02-19-2005, 05:15 AM
teg92
WHAT OK YEAH!

you increase HP a little bit, nothing noticable.
Old 02-19-2005, 01:27 PM
Civic Guy

but in what way does that work.......
Old 02-19-2005, 02:36 PM
CivicRacr

its call parasitic drag, the engine works a bit more to turn the power steering pump, but not much that you'll notice any gains from removing the ps belt
Old 02-19-2005, 02:58 PM
89civicSiR
thats right im a NOOB!

when i bought my 89 civic si it didnt have any power steering but i dont know if the owner b4 me took it off cuz he also removed the ac to gain hp. when i test drove the car it was a bitch to take corners but when i put in a front upper strut bar the steering is almost like power steering when your driving but its still a bitch when your turning the wheel from a stop.......if my car had power steering and i knew how to remove it properly i would as long as i had a strut bar. besides power steering is over rated.
Old 02-19-2005, 03:00 PM
JoePoonani
Lexus Tech y0!!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by 89civicSiR