Notices

New to imports

Old 01-24-2007, 10:37 AM
t-townCivicSI

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to imports

hey I'm new to the civic nation I sold my 95' z28 to pick up my all black 06' si. This car rocks was wondering if anyone knows where to get a good vtech controller?
Old 01-24-2007, 11:22 AM
Snoopy
been there done that

1. it's spelled vtec. you actually have ivtec. :a:
2. you do not need to mess with vtec until you have cams at the least
3. go to www.howstuffworks.com and learn how vtec and ivtec works
Old 01-24-2007, 11:36 AM
ErichPryde

I think you might mean VTEC controller. I know that Hondata offers a reflash for the 2006-2007 civic si, it's about 600 dollars. the reflash causes vtec to engage earlier, somewhere around 4000 or 5000 rpm. Here is what Hondata has to say about vtec controllers. I looked around, but I can't seem to find a vtec controller (other than the reflash by Hondata) for the 06-07 si. I also know that some people on the temple of vtec forum like the hondata reflash, but I haven't personally seen one in action.
Old 01-24-2007, 01:20 PM
ErichPryde

and, IMO, honda did a pretty good job of setting up the vtec engage point for the 06 civic si. If you want to get a tiny bit more power out of your car though, go for it.
Old 01-24-2007, 07:33 PM
ErichPryde

Hondata Reflash 06 civic si
Old 02-21-2007, 01:55 PM
SuperSilverG13
notaQQbear

This comes straight from Snoopy so give him credit, he actually posted this for me when i asked the same question so i figured it might help you out

This is why piggy backs suck-

Piggy Back controllers allow stock ECUs to do things that they normally can't do, like run larger injectors or deal with boost. Remember that piggyback controllers work by altering sensor signals before they get to the ECU.