Notices

upgrades

Old 04-27-2005, 07:29 PM
Mr_Goodbar

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default upgrades

Im totally new to this stuff so bear with me. I have a 97 civc DX coupe thats totally paid for with 100k miles. I think that it would be more cost efficient to just swap engines when this one craps out but i want my car to be fun to drive now. I want to put coilovers, wheels and tires, sway bars, and better brakes on now to at least improve ride handling. My question is if i get upgrade parts such as exhaust, intake, etc., will they be easily interchangeable with the new engine? Thanks a lot.
Old 04-27-2005, 07:34 PM
igo4bmx
CockBlockerator

intake - depends

exhaust- should fit fine

header - from d to b - no
Old 04-27-2005, 08:14 PM
Mr_Goodbar

thanks that helps. I wouldnt get the headers until i swapped anyways. and i take it that i should be fine with the suspension stuff.
Old 04-27-2005, 08:20 PM
alphaxxn
4500rpm hesitation

The suspension stuff will in all likelihood be fine.

Intake is USUALLY okay.

Headers definetly not unless you swap another D.

Suspension+steering+brakes are the most fun upgrades anyway instead of speed it just makes it more fun to drive
Old 04-27-2005, 11:59 PM
Mr_Goodbar

can I put power steering on my civic DX or is that just a stupid idea cuz its pretty small as im sure everyone knows?
Old 04-28-2005, 12:13 PM
Jafro
I'm made of meat!

FYI, exhaust pipes may also not fit. If you have a HX, VX or CX, whatever you bolt in there that fits those engines won't fit any other D-series unless you replace everything all the way up to the head. No D - B series intakes, intake or exhaust manifolds are interchangeable across engine codes. D-series fits D-series, B-series fits B-series.

Power steering is possible but you need to replace the rack and that's a crappy job. You're better off without it anyway, your car only weighs 2300 lbs.
Old 04-28-2005, 01:51 PM
meunit910