Notices

Exhaust Valve Problems

Old 03-04-2005, 09:22 AM
NewbieTEG

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Exhaust Valve Problems

Hey, I just learned that my exhaust valve on my 4th cylinder is broken and will need to be replaced, so I was just wondering how offend this happens and what might have caused it to break in the first place. Just so you know I am a reasonable driver, no racing or anything like that, although I do drive it hard sometimes, and also I live in Upstate New York where the temp can get will below freezing at night, thanks a lot and hopefully I can avoid this in the future.
Old 03-04-2005, 09:52 AM
Eclypz

is everything stock?

but to answer your question, no...it's not common at all.
Old 03-04-2005, 10:08 AM
teg92
WHAT OK YEAH!

how was your timing belt? maybe you skipped timing and bent the valve
Old 03-04-2005, 10:10 AM
NewbieTEG

Yes everything is stock, there was a no name eBay air intake on for like a month but i took it off when i got the car. Other than that its bone stock. I plan on putting the Ebay back on after i get the car fixed, after i put on a K&N filter on it!
Old 03-04-2005, 10:12 AM
NewbieTEG

i was thinking that might be it, i am getting the timing belt replaced now to, while the engine is torn apart already, i am at 81,000 now but i figure its best to replace it now, plus they took some off the bill because the engine is already apart.
Old 03-04-2005, 10:15 AM
teg92
WHAT OK YEAH!

Originally Posted by NewbieTEG
i was thinking that might be it, i am getting the timing belt replaced now to, while the engine is torn apart already, i am at 81,000 now but i figure its best to replace it now, plus they took some off the bill because the engine is already apart.
a valve wont just bend for any reason most likey you skipped timing and it bent. Good Ideia to place the timing belt while everything is already apart
Old 03-04-2005, 10:22 AM
NewbieTEG