Notices

So i've been reading...and I've got some questions

Old 03-11-2008, 05:00 PM
si_ace22

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default So i've been reading...and I've got some questions

New to the site as of a few days ago and I've been reading up on a lot of the prior posts so I don't ask questions that have been asked a billion times. BUT....one thing has stricken me pretty badly.
I'm an 05 SI driver...currently unmodded (got a CAI and Cat-back on the way tho). So...(from what I've read) I'm sitting with a k20a3 engine....and apparently this engine is complete crap (again from what I've been reading).

SOOO...my question is other than i/h/e and a kpro (which i also have questions about)...what all can I do to make this dreadful engine better? or should I hold off on modding it and save up for a complete swap?

I haven't seen anything really wrong with the engine as far as I can tell...but I've never driven an RSX-S either....

Anyways....I love the car...really good look, extremely unique, and tons of things to do with it. Just looking for a little advice to get the best bang out of this car I guess.

Thanks in advance
Old 03-13-2008, 10:00 PM
nevets
WAAAGH!!

in the beginning the engine was considered to be "crappy" especially compared to the K20A2 from the RSX-S.

but there are many people that have put down respectable power with the K20A3, and its really not as bad as many people make it out to be (mainly people who don't bother to learn more about the engine). it has a decent amount of torque for a civic which is a trade off since it doesnt have that much top end power.

I/H/E/KPro would put down great power. brian crower and skunk2 also make camshafts which when combined with a PRC intake manifold and you're getting extremely good power out of your "dreadful" engine. of course thats only if you plan on going all motor.

boosting would be a different story, as many EP3 owners have put down as much as 300whp with a turbo kit (rehard and cybernation).