Notices

NEW DC5 Intake Designed

Old 12-24-2005, 05:37 AM
dc5s
Designer of HP

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEW DC5 Intake Designed

I have been designing different intake systems since 2000. First was a cold air system for my old baja race truck. After being pleased with it, i moved to ways of cooling NA induction systems without wasting much space. Using dry ice in a contained metal enclosure, i was able to drop intake temps by 48degrees (testing at a constant 98degrees outside) using a steel enclosure. This helped extensively in a few desert runs in west Texas(at over 102degrees).

However, dragging dry ice into the desert is a very hard thing to do. So i asked around and found that CO2 released into a closed chamber turns into dry ice instantly. Feeling stupid, I revised the system and was about to start testing when my engine blew up (not due to intake, but due to cold starting and running hard in November of last year untuned )

Anyway, i was out of the designing for a few months but have designed a few for the 2002-2004 RSX. This is a picture of one i designed while i have been in Japan. I am just posting this one to see what ya'll think. It is the intake i will be running next month.

Parts:
Top Fuel CF Canister Intake w/ Velocity Stack
AC 5'' Filter
BILLION CF External Induction 'scoop'
JTUNED 75mm pipe from 'scoop'-to-box
JTUNED Aluminum 'box' around filter
JTUNED Elbow from TB-to-CF Canister

This system will be upgraded to a dry ice version soon after the original is built and tested. I am designing it to give the best of both worlds. Cold air from the outside and a short ram design. The first 'chamber'; the Top Fuel CF; will keep cold, filtered air as close to the TB as possible during shifts, as opposed to a conventional cold air intake where the air will start backing out between shifts, the engine has to wait for more cool air, injesting 'static' air which is easiestly explained as (low throttle response).