Notices

any bike mechanics here?

Old 07-06-2007, 04:21 PM
ISP James
DAMIMRED

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default any bike mechanics here?

1985 honda vf500c magna v30....

ive only had the bike for a week, ive driven it twice and my dad drove it once. i am a beginner and still a little shaky about riding...

there is a small gas drip on my bike, i seem to have it narrowed down to which hose it is.... for some reason, i can fire the bike up in the driveway and let it warm up and have no problems, if i take it on a rip... thats when it drips some. maybe from building pressure under the throttle...

it is right over where the swing arm bolts to the frame there are 2 hoses that go into what i presume to be the fuel pump... sort of behind the battery and a little bit lower... probably too vague a description...

anyway, is there any easy way to get to that with out taking the rear wheel off? im thinking maybe if i take the plastic fender liner/splash guard thing out i might be able to get to it.... just looking for insight from an experienced tech.

Last edited by ISP James; 07-06-2007 at 05:09 PM.
Old 07-06-2007, 11:59 PM
Draconius
BAZINGA!

How full is your gas tank? When you fill up NEVER fill right to the brim. You always need to leave some 'expanding/sloshing' room. The dripping gas is probably from the overfill line. Try to take a picture of it if you can.
Old 07-07-2007, 04:08 AM
ISP James
DAMIMRED

when i first got the bike, there wasnt much gas in it at all... it ran out on tuesday night after i did an oil change i started it up to get it warm & take it for a ride, it quit after a couple of minutes... i put < 2 gallons in it last night.