Notices

Please Help...my acura died in the middle of the road

Old 05-14-2011, 10:32 AM
acurachick1978

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please Help...my acura died in the middle of the road

Hello everyone...I am a newbie to a forums so please be easy on me. I have a 1987 Acura Integra LS that has had modifications done to the injectors, exhaust manifold and suspension. Well last night i was driving and the motor just quit, no strange noises nothing just quit and now it will turn over like always and sound as if it wants to start but never does. I am at a total loss here and everywhere i have searched online for answers hasnt been to much help. There has also been a kill switch installed because people were stealing them, well the motor sounds just like it does when that is on but it wasnt when this happened...Please if anyone has any ideas I would love to hear them.
Old 05-15-2011, 02:13 PM
guitarswheelies

Well, not that I'm an expert on this, but my '95 Integra died a few times . I think the forum here is slanted more towards the high performance freaks that find this kind of question boring.

There are a few things that can croak to kill your ride like that. For an engine to run you need and engine that can use the crankshaft to turn the camshaft along with spark at the right time and fuel.

Timing belt-when it breaks your car shuts of immediately . If you are lucky you didn't screw up the valves but I don't know that engine. Your car will still make some compression when turning it over so you might have to take off the valve cover to see if its broken.

Coil-when it opens or is out of spec or partially shorting your car won't start or may shut off when it gets hots. There is a simple test you can do with an ohmeter to determine if the coil is good.

Ignitor-mine is OK but I replaced it before I found the bad coil. If the ignitor is bad the car won't start.