Honda-Acura.net

Honda-Acura.net (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/index.php)
-   Integra & 97-01 Integra Type-R (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/integra-and-97-01-integra-type-r-17/)
-   -   Noise when pressing gas (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/integra-and-97-01-integra-type-r/161846-noise-when-pressing-gas.html)

yurey 10-27-2004 11:38 AM

Noise when pressing gas

Help folks. New to the forum and tuning.
When pressing the gas at low speed and letting go I can hear a crunching noise from mid-front. Sounds like tranny..but I am no mechanic. All opinions welcome. :confused:

94civicEX 10-27-2004 11:41 AM

Does it feel like the transmission is slipping and catching? Is your car auto or manual? Year and mileage?

newgsrdriver 10-27-2004 11:47 AM

Does the grind increase with RPM?

You say, when letting go, does that mean upon decelleration, you hear a grind? What about acceleration, does it grind as well?

dubcac 10-27-2004 12:36 PM

Does it sound like a gear grinding type noise, or a metal on metal clanking sound?

yurey 10-27-2004 12:47 PM

its an auto, 2001 46.5K. its a metal crunching/creaking.
sounds like if you were rubbing a steel cabel on a steel plate.
happens when pressing and letting go of accelerator.

with increased RPM - can't hear...loud engine

does feel like the tranny is slipping and catching...but on an auto..or is that actually why?

94civicEX 10-27-2004 01:07 PM

Originally Posted by yurey
its an auto, 2001 46.5K. its a metal crunching/creaking.
sounds like if you were rubbing a steel cabel on a steel plate.
happens when pressing and letting go of accelerator.

with increased RPM - can't hear...loud engine

does feel like the tranny is slipping and catching...but on an auto..or is that actually why?

Your warranty should be 48 months/ 50,000 miles. Take it to the dealership. That would be your torque convertor catching. Have you checked the fluid?

dubcac 10-27-2004 01:28 PM