Notices
Do It Yourself This is where you will find step by step instructions so you can Do it Yourself!

DIY 6th gen Civic brake pad and rotor change

Old 01-21-2006, 05:34 PM
chimchim
WRX cuz Honda won't wagon

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY 6th gen Civic brake pad and rotor change

I just changed out my brake pads and rotors (front discs) so I decided to make a DIY out of it. I read how-tos and the Honda factory service manual. I'm not a professional mechanic so I'd appreciate any corrections if necessary. Check out my DIY 6th gen civic suspension for my other DIY.

DIY 6th gen Civic brake pad and rotor change

Tools needed:
- 10mm, 12mm, 17mm socket and wrench
- big philips impact screwdriver
- mallet
- hammer
- brake cleaner
- silicon grease (if your pads didn't come with any)

1) Jack up the front of the car and put them on stands, remove the front wheels.

2) Remove the two 10mm bolts on the brake line bracket so the line can swing free.

3) (Seen from the inside of the wheel well), remove the two 17mm bolts holding the caliper bracket on. These bolts were the toughest part of this experience. I had to use a steel wrench and bang it with a mallet to get them loose.

Last edited by chimchim; 01-23-2006 at 10:01 AM.
Old 01-21-2006, 05:41 PM
chimchim

4) With the two bolts removed, the caliper will come free (don't drop it!). You can either hang it with some wire, or use something to support it. The only thing attaching it to the car now is the flimsy brake line.

5) Using the impact screwdriver (or muscle with a big philips screwdriver), remove the two 8mm screws which are securing the brake rotor.

6) Now that the screws are off, only rust and crud hold the rotor on. Bang it with a hammer to pop it off. I banged it on the rotor center, not on the rotor brake surface. Remove the old rotor, clean off gunk on the hub. Clean the new rotor, and mount the new rotor on.