Notices

rebuild or not to rebuild...

Old 03-15-2009, 12:07 PM
jaimnemonic

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default rebuild or not to rebuild...

hello all, i am replacing the head gasket on my girlfriends 91 civic and id like a few opinions. the engine has 240,000 miles on it. its still a fairly strong engine but its got a few miles on it. ok, so heres the full situation:
the head gasket blew a few months ago so i tore it down and went to replace the gasket. i carefully checked the head with a straight edge and it appeared to be within spec so i didnt bother resurfacing it. im a fairly proficient mechanic with good common sense but i did something very dumb... while cleaning the head, i used the remaining head gasket remover i had and used it to clean the head. not thinking about the RUBBER valve guide seals still in place. after assembling the engine, it started right up and sounded strong. but... it seemed to smoke quite a bit. i just figured it was burning off cleaners and stuff that washed down into the cat and whatnot. well... the smoking didnt let up. we continued to drive it dealing with the embarassing smoke, which waasnt constant, without any other problems. well, at some point, it was going through a quart every 2 days. i pulled the plugs and all were in great shape except number 3 cylinder. and it looked to have water on it as well as oil. for reference, the car never really got hot. it would need water in the radiator about once every week and a half or so, but didint seem to be a huge issue. well... with the plugs out, i cranked the engine to see what might blow out.. a small bit of water consistantly blew out the hole. at this point i decided to pull the head again. before finding water i was sure it was just valve guide seals. seeing the water told me perhaps the gasket was leaking again. ok, so with the head off, i have a few concerns. pulling the head, of course some coolant went into the cylinders. all 4... number 3 after an hour or so when i came ba