Honda-Acura.net

Honda-Acura.net (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/index.php)
-   CRX & Pre 92 Civic (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/crx-and-pre-92-civic-8/)
-   -   hello all, im a newb and i was wondering if i could put a h22 in a 89 civic 1.5L? (https://www.honda-acura.net/forums/crx-and-pre-92-civic/139757-hello-all-im-a-newb-and-i-was-wondering-if-i-could-put-a-h22-in-a-89-civic-1-5l.html)

Mackenzie C 05-15-2004 11:21 AM

hello all, im a newb and i was wondering if i could put a h22 in a 89 civic 1.5L?

can i do that swap? also some newbe questions when does vtec usually kick in? i think thats it.

Mackenzie C.

ED9man 05-15-2004 11:24 AM

how much money do you have?

Mackenzie C 05-15-2004 11:45 AM

Originally Posted by ED8man
how much money do you have?

2,500$, is it enough? i just want the motor to be just fast enough i dont want to go to far just intake exhaust and headers on the h22 if it is a possible swap. what would i need for the swap?

brtecson 05-15-2004 01:07 PM

welcome to the forum. for the swap, you would only need one header, so if somebody tries to sell you a h22 and two headers, dont buy it:D

anyways, this swap will take a ton of custom work. i dont think that $2,500 is going to cut it. You may want to consider a b20/18/16 to start out with, and go with a b16 head if you have the funds.

Mackenzie C 05-15-2004 01:21 PM

yeah im willing to do all of the cutsom work. the b20 is weak isnt it out of the cr-v? so the b series are drop in right?i think i could scrounge up more money if i need to.

B16Drag 05-15-2004 09:31 PM

Who told you a B20 is weak? Yes it might not have the most well designed sleeves but it is by far one of the better torque producing honda engines.