Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

porting a fiberglass box?

Old 07-05-2003, 08:54 PM
4thgen91EFhatch

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default porting a fiberglass box?

hey guys whats up...this is my first time posting in this section of the site...anyways, i recently built a box for my friend and it turned out absolutely awesome...the other night i read a write up on making a fiberglass box...i have worked with fiberglass before and know what i'm doin...anyways, i'm gonna do a fiberglass enclosure in the back of my hatch...here's my questions

1. Can i port a fiberglass enclosure, will it work well, should i just make the port out of MDF and then somehow make it stay in the fiberglass?

2. Which way should i point the subs...you can see the back of my car in the sig

i'm gonna do all fiberglass panels in the rear so they're however i want em to be...i'll post another pic of the back of my hatch though...

...that carpet is just some that i pulled from the spare tire well in another one of our cars

i'm really only doin this in hopes i can make a little money doin custom fiberglass enclosures for folks...thanks everyone
Old 07-05-2003, 11:22 PM
rcurley55

Default Re: porting a fiberglass box?

Originally posted by 4thgen91EFhatch
[B]1. Can i port a fiberglass enclosure, will it work well, should i just make the port out of MDF and then somehow make it stay in the fiberglass?[b]
So long as you get the box size right, you will be fine. I'm assuming you want a 'glass baffle. If so, just grab a router, but a doughnut (from MDF) with an ID that is equal to the OD of the port tube you will use. Then use some MDF to frame it up, and when you stretch your fleece, you will have a spot to mount the port.

2. Which way should i point the subs...you can see the back of my car in the sig