Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

What speaker/setup to go with?

Old 12-03-2005, 02:18 PM
edecho

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What speaker/setup to go with?

Hey guys, Im a real newbie with audio stuff and Im hopin someone can help me go with a good setup. my '00 Civic Si original speakers finally have had it, they are crackin and when u turn them up, they're blown. Car audio wise, the only thing i have is an alpine deck, cda-9807 which has Built-In Amplifier RMS Power 4 x 23 Watts RMS. and i have a rockford 10" sub with a MTX Thunder 421D amp hooked up to it. I want up upgrade to a new system, like maybe $400 max for 2 front door speakers, tweeters, and the 2 rear. Any suggestions of a good setup in my range?
Old 12-03-2005, 02:33 PM
b00gers

If you do a quick search for a couple threads below you, youll find some suggestions.

I assume that you are just replacing the speakers and not adding an external amp?
Old 12-04-2005, 12:09 AM
edecho

Im not sure if I need a external amp? but if required, then id go out and get one.
Old 12-04-2005, 12:47 AM
b00gers

Originally Posted by edecho
Im not sure if I need a external amp? but if required, then id go out and get one.

You dont NEED an external amp since your headunit already has an amp that does 23watts x 4. But having an external amp will make your system sound that much louder. It is a good investment and your headunit allows for an external 4 ch amp with the preouts in the back.

If you are willing to spend the money on an amp, increase your budget by $100 and you can get a very nice starter setup.

Elemental Designs nine.4 $235
Elemental Designs eDi 6000s $125
Wire kit for ~$40
And your choice of whatever rear speakers. (I personally would just not run rear speakers)
Old 12-19-2005, 04:25 PM
jragon