Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

Fiberglass people....HELP please. *pics

Old 05-06-2005, 06:38 PM
b00gers

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fiberglass people....HELP please. *pics

Hi. I just received my speakers today and discovered that they dont fit. I have a window-rail pretty close to the sheet-metal. Using a baffle tall enough will cause the speaker to hit the door panel. I looks like the only way I can get these in is with some glassin'.

I dont want kickpanels because they will just take too much time and work. I have never done fiberglassing before, so the more simple it is, the better.

I was doing some research and found these two attractive projects that look very simple. This first one simply mounts the speaker onto a ring that is glassed into the speaker cover. But I dont think this is a good idea because the speaker is sitting onto of the cover which is held in with clips to the door panel. So it is not even reinforced to the metal of the door.

Here is the 2nd idea. This takes the concept of the first one, but takes it a couple steps further. Here is the link. I figure I can do this and bolt it to the metal of the door like the guy did. That should hold it well. Then I will sounddeaden the door panel and door like crazy. This seems like a better idea, but will involved way more work. I will even have to find vinyl wrap that matches my interior.

http://www.icixsound.com/vb/showthre...mple+door+pods

Thanks.
Old 05-07-2005, 07:32 PM
japanbran

i would use the second idea. it is much easier to do that then paint glass. let say you glass it using the first idea, you have to build it, glass it, bondo it, prime it, and paint it.. if you do the second you could build it, glass it,wrap it... thats it. it is cheaper and stronger that way. imo..

if you glass it and have questions pm me.

hope this helps,
brandon