Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

4 ohm or 8 ohm?

Old 10-23-2004, 07:17 PM
JDM_civicEG

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 ohm or 8 ohm?

I just bought a subwoofer from a thrift store for 60 bucks....its a MTX audio thunder 6000 with a q-logic box....the only thing wrong is I dunno if its 4ohm or 8ohm....how can you tell?....I went to their site to find out but the same model comes with both so is there a way to tell? Also what would be the best amp to get with a low budget?
Old 10-23-2004, 08:11 PM
97teg

Usally if you take it out of the box it will say on the back.
Old 10-23-2004, 10:36 PM
augy

I have no experience whatsoever with audio, but can you just hook up a multimeter and measure the resistance accross the sub?
Old 10-23-2004, 11:58 PM
chimchim
WRX cuz Honda won't wagon

Originally Posted by augy
I have no experience whatsoever with audio, but can you just hook up a multimeter and measure the resistance accross the sub?
No, you can't.

Impediance cannot be measured with a DC source like a multimeter.

Easiest way (like posted above) is to open up the thing and hopefully it's listed on the driver magnet.

BTW, 4 or more ohm impediance will work on all (4 ohm) car stereo equipment. 8 ohm just won't sound as loud.
Old 10-24-2004, 12:09 AM
bluetwo
Relevance is irrelevant

4 ohm > 8 ohm.
There is a way to get 4 out of an 8 speaker. I don't know how to do it, but I've read that it is in the way it is hooked up with the rest of your speaker. I think you have to split the signal with another sub.
Old 10-24-2004, 08:53 AM
TTT

Originally Posted by chimchim
No, you can't.

Impediance cannot be measured with a DC source like a multimeter.

Easiest way (like posted above) is to open up the thing and hopefully it's listed on the driver magnet.