Notices
Audio, Security, & Automotive Lighting Troubleshoot wiring problems and get equipment suggestions all in one place. Now expanded to include Automotive Lighting

New Amp(s) and Subs

Old 09-05-2004, 06:13 PM
Nighthawk8k
Custom User Title:

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New Amp(s) and Subs

Hey im a 100% noob when it comes to car audio, so bear with me
ok so I want to get 2 12" subs, a sub enclosure, and an amp... but do I need 2 mono chan amps or 1 2- channel amp or what, pretending money isn't an object...?
These are the subs I was looking at, are they good?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MEWA:IT
and what kinda amps or one amp are good to power the subs, or what subs are better than these? Also what kinda wires and stuff should I get, im a noob at that too... :P
Thanks a lot in advance!

EDIT
I like these better -
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...e=STRK:MEWA:IT
Now my question is can a mono chan amp power 2 subs or not, cuz im such a noob... do i need a 2 chan amp???? help plz!!
Old 09-06-2004, 09:44 PM
b00gers

A mono amp can power as many subs as you can throw at it as long as it has the power at the right impedance (OHM).

You can use a mono amp to power a pair of subs. You should do some research online and get familiar with bridging amps, impedance, and SVC v. DVD. A good place to start is actually JL's site, http://www.jlaudio.com/tutorials/index.html

Then come back with more questions.
Old 09-07-2004, 03:58 AM
Nighthawk8k
Custom User Title:

Thanks will do.
Old 09-07-2004, 08:10 AM
pnthr30